Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Subjects and programs

Teachers design curriculum around engaging, real-life and relevant issues and challenges that are meaningful for students and society. This means drawing on the best of traditional forms and responding to changing social contexts. In response to this, the five main elements of our curriculum are:
  • English –  including language, literature and literacy and modules, speaking and listening, reading and viewing and writing and designing with both traditional print and multimedia materials. Explicit teaching of reading occurs in literacy blocks through guided, shared, modelled and independent reading.
  • Mathematics – including number and algebra, measurement and geometry statistics and probability.
  • Science- including biological, chemical, physical and Earth and space sciences.
  • History – including historical knowledge and understanding and historical skills.
  • Geography.

Teachers also plan units which draw on the range of core learning outcomes from the key learning areas of the arts, health and physical education and technology. It is expected that the learning experiences within these units are designed to enable students to demonstrate their ability against established assessable elements and standards. 

Complementing these curriculum offerings, students also receive explicit teaching in Information Communication Technology (computers), Health and Physical Education, Music and Language other than English (LOTE) - Chinese from specialist teachers.